A game-winning touchdown throw in overtime and a field goal to tie the game in regulation were part of the Cowboys’ exciting overtime triumph over the Patriots.

The defense’s huge plays, particularly Randy Gregory’s sacks, were not forgotten.

Gregory has been named the Week 6 recipient of the NFL Way to Play Award, as announced on NFL Network’s Good Morning Football.

The weekly winners are chosen by an expert team consisting of MERRIL HOGE, RONNIE LOTT, WILLIE MCGINEST, ORLANDO PACE, and MICHAEL ROBINSON.

The following is Gregory’s award-winning game’s explanation:

Gregory sacked Patriots quarterback Mac Jones with 10:14 left in the second quarter, demonstrating great pass-rushing technique by maintaining his head up and out while leading with his shoulder. As he made the tackle, he made sure he didn’t land on the quarterback with his whole weight. His play resulted in a forced fumble, which Cowboys defensive end Chauncey Golston recovered for a touchdown.

“Through the award, football players and spectators from all over the world can watch real-time instances of exceptional football principles and skill development,” NFL Executive Vice President of Football Operations TROY VINCENT remarked.

Each Way to Play Award winner will receive a $2,500 equipment grant from USA Football, which will be donated to the player’s favorite local youth or high school football team.

The 2021 NFL Way to Play Award recipients:

Week 1 – Jordan Mailata, OT, Eagles

Week 2 – Jason Peters, OT, Bears

Week 3 – Trent Williams, OT, 49ers

Week 4 – Hunter Renfrow, WR/PR, Raiders

Week 5 – Trent Williams, OT, 49ers

Week 6 – Randy Gregory, DE, Cowboys

To watch the videos and for more information on the NFL Way to Play, please visit ops.nfl.com/WTP-Award.

Write A Comment